The Passive-Aggressive patient

Dear Passive aggressive patient,

Hello, it’s Kim, your technician, I’ve been walking by for the last ten minutes, I just did your half hour check about five minutes ago.  You were watching television quite comfortably, you had no complaints, I just asked you, you even commented on the Olympics.

So, here we are, you just got off the phone with your wife while I was attending to the needs of another patient who had a problem.  Nurse R, the manager, just walked from her office and asked you if you were cramping because your wife just called her to tell her you were CRAMPING!  Um, hello, I am your technician, I just walked past you, I am within ten feet of you!  Why didn’t you ask me to turn off the ultrafiltration? Or give you some saline, or hell, if you just wanted to make me come over you could have started writhing in pain like you did last week.  No, no, that would be too straight forward, instead you call your wife and tell her you’re cramping…not the person who can help you.

Next time, have your wife page me to the phone, okay?  Because it really just makes you look strange and does nothing to help you, like, oh I dunno, stopping the cramp that is forming?

Love,

Kim

~ by Kim on August 18, 2008.

One Response to “The Passive-Aggressive patient”

  1. Hi, I’m Karin. I don’t work in dialysis but I totally get you. This happens a lot on the floor, too.

Leave a Reply

 
