Sorry

I don’t have much in me, I am worn out today and it has been a crazy, crazy day that could only be summized as: needle sticks (not me), HIV patient, lots of crying (also not me).

Happy fourth and catchya later!!

 

Addendum:

The law states the HIV status is to remain private.  In dialysis we only know about an HIV positive status patient when it is in their history.  But if a person acquires the virus after they are our patient we can’t test for it, without informed consent. 

So if we accidently stick ourselves with a dirty needle we don’t know what the person has.  In fact here’s the kicker, their privacy is so protected that they can refuse to have an HIV test.  That’s right refuse a test after you’ve been sticked with a large bore dialysis needle. 

Where’s my rights?

END RANT

~ by Kim on July 3, 2008.

3 Responses to “Sorry”

  1. I started in Health Care around the time that AIDS was becoming more widespread (back then, in the mid 1980s, we called it AIDS; now it’s referred to as HIV), and there was a LOT of discrimination, mainly because it was primarily a homosexual disease. In that respect, I can see the reasoning, but now, I think that health care workers deserve to know the HIV status of a patient if they have a blood exposure.

    I’ve had several needle sticks, and it’s very unnerving, especially when unable to know the HIV status of the patient. However,. the risk of transmission is relatively low, as compared to transmission of Hepatitis.

  2. I think that the law is the same here. I know a nurse who had a needle stick and had to have all kinds of test because they didn’t know what the patient had. Your right, it doesn’t seem far to the workers. But workers don’t seem to have many rights. I mean we can get scratched, punched, bitten, by confused patients, but we can’t do much about it legally.

  3. Awake…I really don’t mind if its a confused a patient, its the ones that do it on purpose that I have to hold everything in NOT to punch them.

Leave a Reply

 
