Tired

Two codes in one day.

I’m icing my left knee because I was on the cement floor doing compressions for twenty minutes one time and bagging for fifteen a few hours later.

I can’t bend it anymore then it is right now and the pain is fairly bad, but this is nothing new so it will just take a few hours to unfreeze.

The codes were bad but I believe had nothing to do with care, just to unfortunate coincidences.  I am really hoping my last two shifts this week are calm and slow.

Pardon me while I pass out of exhaustion

~ by Kim on June 17, 2008.

4 Responses to “Tired”

  1. Kim….
    You and I have something in common. Sore body parts due to compressions.

    I’ve had 200% more codes than I’ve dealt with in my entire career… In the last three shifts.

    My career as I put it has only been three years, but still.

    Sleep well dear.

  2. Awww! I’m sorry!

  3. […] to San Francisco on Wednesday night, partially because I was so stressed from the last few days of codes and such that I decided to get […]

  4. Gosh, I’m sorry that you had to go though that. I have never had to use my CPR skills. In nursing homes most are DNR’s. In one case we had a code, but the supervisor told the nurse to take her time getting to the patient. The patient was very old, and very ill. In other words the Supervisor was making the choice to let the patient go. Personalty I think that she overstepped her authority. No one really did CPR, they just called an ambulance.

Leave a Reply

 
