Eck, California, eck!

Gas has reached 4.41 a gallon, in California.

I haven’t gotten a raise since gas was hovering around 3.00 a gallon.

California drivers can’t drive.  Okay, people come to terms, Highway 101 will always be underconstruction, learn to live with it.  It makes no sense what CalTrains is doing, so just deal with it.  Going 25 miles an hour on the freeway will not make them work faster, nothing will make them work faster.  A 100 yards of extra freeway is going to take three years, deal with it.

Everytime I go out of state to see relatives I get asked if I surf.  Okay, everyone listen, all Californians do not surf, we have what I like to refer to as man eating sharks! and oh yes our water is a balmy 56 degrees!  So, go ahead, ask me if I surf, ask me!  We also don’t walk around in bikinis and eat wheat germ, sorry to dissapoint.

Just because I live in the “wine country” does not mean I am a rich snob who can afford 4.41 a gallon for gas.  I work in healthcare.

And yes it kind of bothers me that everywhere I go now I am supposed to be fluent in Spanish.  And it also kind of bothers me that those “Spanish only” speaking patients of mine tell me in English that I better learn Spanish. 

I know Spanish, not very good Spanish, but if you speak slower to me and don’t get all flabbergasted when I ask you to repeat yourself maybe we can work something out.

So not be all hating on California, things I do like:

I am one hour away from the Pacific Ocean.  One hour away from the Redwoods, four hours away from the Rocky mountains and live smack dab in the middle of hundreds of miles of wine.

When those “Spanish only” patients HELP me with my Spanish and pat my hand and smile when I get out a complete sentence.

Being able to hit up six different ethnic style restaurants in a week and they are all within a one mile radius of one another.

Knowing that by 2012, highway 101 will partially have three lanes!

~ by Kim on June 10, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
